AltWire FastFive – Metal (Week of 1/20/2019)

Sometimes you just need a little pick me up to start your day. That’s where Fast Five comes in. Compromised of bite sized playlists, updated every weekday (Monday through Friday), “the five” gives you a taste of the best in music right now, featuring tracks from a different genre each day. See our picks below for our Metal songs of the week.

Sâver – I Vanish

Starting off with a mean chugging guitar riff, the slow building intro of “I Vanish” is soon joined by a second distorted guitar that together joins to create an eerie melody that is just mind melting. The raw, loud vocals of Ole Ulvik Rokseth truly compliment this track, and this song takes you on a journey from start to finish.


At The Gates – The Mirror Black

At The Gates‘ latest track “The Mirror Black”, which features guest vocals by Rob Miller (Amebix, Tau Cross) blends dark melodies with an absolutely desolate feel. Vocalist Tomas Lindberg‘s amazing lyrics truly make this song come to life.


Herod  – Reckoning

“Reckoning” starts out packing a fantastic death-core like punch.  Towards the middle you receive an ominous chorus, then are punched again with a fantastic breakdown. We thoroughly enjoyed this pick.


Misery Index – Rituals of Power

“Misery Index” is an absolute banger. These riffs and gnarly vocals make for an absolute powerhouse of a song. The lyrics alone are captivating. If you like heavy extreme metal, this is right up your alley.


Lorna Shore – Darkest Spawn

This song is pretty darn brutal. Insane guitar riffs, pounding drums, and snarling growls make this a standout track. We wouldn’t expect any less from Lorna Shore. Absolutely amazing.

Listen to the playlist below and follow Altwire for more

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x